The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it is very important and critical to reverse the decline in Movie Galore's profits, it is important also very important to understand if the steps taken to reduce the operating expenditure at the downtown rental store would have same effect on other stores.

The primary question that needs to be answered is what all were the effects of the changes made at the downtown store. While it is clear that the operating costs were reduced significantly, there are no clear indications of the changes that it resulted in. As an example, were there any effects on the total sales since many people work until 5 to 6 PM so it is natural for them to visit the store at after work hours. Also, how does the reduction in the stock by eliminating all movies released more than 5 years ago affect the consumer satisfaction. For example, a number of movies that were released more than 5 years ago could still be popular among the renters, particulary movies like the Star-Wars that are still considered a classic among many.

The memorandum suggests for following the same steps taken by the downtown store at the other nine stores. While this might be good move, it is important to first know the difference in the demographics of the target renters at the store. As an example closing the store at 6 PM might be good idea in the downtown, but it might result in a huge drop in sales in a different more residential area.

Without facts regarding the renters of Movies Galore it is also difficult to predict if the store chain is still known for its special bargains. While the memorandum suggests that the store chain is still popular for that, a new survey seeking opnions of its consumer would be a good idea for the store to be up to date on the preferences and choices of its customers. Such survey might also include other questions regarding the timings of the store. Such surveys will help the store to make a better and more informed decision on the new policies.

The memorandum is also missing the information on the breakdown of the decrease in operating cost achieved by the downtown store. It might be a better idea to look at what was if any was the major factor in driving down the operating cost. For example, if just the reduction in the operating hours resulted in the majority of the cost reducion, then it would be a better idea to more carefully consider why others didn't work or how they can be improved.

While it is important to increase the profit by reducing the operating costs of the stores it is also very important to carefully consider and implement the changes from downtown store in other stores. This is warranted by the possible diversity in the demands and requirements of the consumers in different stores. Following such steps and answering the questions above would help the store chain make a much more informed decision which could possibly avoid a step in the wrong direction. Apart from this the question required for the proper analysis of the argument in memorandum would be helpful in identifying the more recent trends of the renters at Movie Galore stores.