Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The author claims that interview-centred method which his team used provides a more accurate understanding of the child-rearing traditions in Tertia and other islands compared to the observation based methodologies adopted by Dr.Field. while the author's claim appears to be convincing in the beginning, on closer examination the argument reveals that it relies on assumptions having no supporting evidence and lacks cogency.

To begin with, the argument relies on the assumption that the interview is unbiased and reliable. The assumption that the interview is a valid source of information is a stretch. information gathering techniques such as interviews and surveys tend to be unreliable and the outcomes of these techniques can be biased based on some factors including but not limited to the cohort, the nature of questions, the number of questions and the interviewer themselves who drive the interview. Inclusion of metadata of the interview process such as the nature of the questions, the cohort and other factors would strengthen the argument.

Second, it is rather bold of the author to assume that observations recorded 20 years ago would be valid even today. while this appears to be a valid assumption, it is by no means the truth. In a world where the only constant thing is change, traditions and cultures are bound to change or evolve over the course of time. As an illustration, some exotic cultures which previously allowed for polygamy have now completely abandoned polygamy and similar things are bound to happen with cultures as well. Given the limited evidence it is fallacious to discard the observations recorded in the past by comparing it with recent observations.

Third, it is unjust to discard Dr.Field’s observations based on the topic on which the children spent their time talking about. The underlying assumption here can be that the children of same age group were considered. it is not uncommon for young kids to be emotionally attached to their biological parents irrespective of the environment. but as and when they grow up they interact and communicate with the people around them and become less attached to their biological parents. it is highly likely that Dr.Karp's interview targeted young childen which caused a bias in the result. Due to lack of several key factots the author’s conclusion is wholly unwarranted.

In short, the argument is poorly reasoned and is not completely convincing. To evaluate the argument better one would require solid evidences and additional data on the scientific study conducted.