A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

This topic discusses a controversial argument on whether university education shall focus towards specialization in a single discipline or explore the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses for a student to become fullt learned. Undoubtedly, a variety of subjects taught to a student shall improve his knowledge and understanding of things. Nevertheless, just touching upon the basics of the courses would not help a student learn in depth about the subject of his interest. Therefore, I disagree to the opinion that true university education should explore the broad spectrum of liberal art courses for students to become truly learned.

First of all, narrow, specialized study of a single discipline provides the student with depth knowledge about that discipline. Further, a student shall have full focus only on that discpline. To illustrate, let us consider an example of a scientist in the making. In thsi circumstance, it is obvious that he shall require his full attention towards science to successful persuade his career. Consequentially, it is pretty obvious he shall not explore other courses that might intervene in his ambition.

Furthermore, exploring the spectrum of other courses leads to having half knowledge about all the courses, but full knowledge about none. Both our common sense and personal experience reveals that half knowledge is dangerous. For example, if a student learns just the basics of kungfu, and lands up in a kungfu match, he is bound to hurt himself very badly. This demonstrates how exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses may not make students truly learned but the opposite.

It is true that studying a broad spectrum of liberal arts can provide knowledge to the student in all aspects. Additionally, it helps students understand the real world bettter. However, this does not constitute a sufficient support to the argument. It can be pointed that a narrow, specialized study helps him to get ahead of the competition, and pursue the discipline he/she is truly interested in.

In conclusion, liberal art courses can alleviate a student, but the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline motivates him/her to follow their passion and interest. Also, early education can inculcate the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses and later years can focus on their specialized study. This can help the students become truly learned.