The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the argument, the author discusses the idea that their news programs are more devoted to providing national news to the public rather devoting their time to weather and local news. The complaints provided by the public seems logical considering that weathers news are considered appealing to the viewers and lacking them might lower the public's interest in news programs. Therefore, the author considered that restoring weather and local news might increase the number of viewers and therefore, increase their businesses. Although this argument may seem logical at first glance, certain aspects aren't fully explained which may allow the reader to doubt the validity of this argument.

First of all, the author of this argument doesn't provide an explanation to the reason behind the lack of time devoted to weather and local news. In fact, most news programs viewed weather advertising as important aspects in order to increase number of viewers as well as their interests in news programs. In the provided argument, the author neglect to emphasize why, unlike many news programs in the world, this television station does not provide time to give news associated to the weather. It might be possible that financial issues might be the reason behind the lack of weather and local news in the television station, considering that giving to the public information about the weather requires a high amount of budget that simply the news station is able to afford. Therefore, considering that weather news might not be as crucial compared to other news aspects, the time devoted to them was reduced.

Second of all, it is true that the complaints of the viewers might be linked to the lack of weather and local news. Nevertheless, isn't it possible that other types of complaints might have been put to place? For instance, complaints associated with other news aspect such as the duration required to forecast the news and even other problematic elements that could be easily solved. wouldn't be possible that, by solving those aspects, to increase the number of viewers? In fact, the authoer is mostly concerned, within this argument, about the problems associated with the weather news and does not provide enough consideration to other problems that, despite being small, might prove to give a significant benefit to the news programs and to their businesses and advertisements.

Finally, in the last part of the argument, the author consider that by restoring the weather and local news programs, this will restore the success of the news businesses. However, the author does not provide enough emphasis behind this idea. In fact, the author does not explain what measure should be taken in order to restore the weather and news programs to their formal state. If economic issues are the problem, how can they provide sufficient budget to restore them? Interestingly, the final phrase of the argument "to its formal level" underscores what was already explained in the sencond paragraph of this essay, explaining that weather and local news were displayed at high levels. However, a certain aspect might have lower the time devoted to them.

In conclusion, this argument presents a good logical way to display a problem as well as a solution to the problem. However, this argument does not explain the whole story and does not provide enough supportive elements to ensure its validity.