An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the stated argument, the author discusses a solution to vitamin A deficiency by providing, through bioengineering, a type of food that is high in vitamin A, therefore, providing the population the necessary vitamin A supply. although this argument seems reasonable in various aspects, it lacks various supportive elements and evidence in order to support it.

First all, the author neglected to point out the reason behind the problem of vitamin A deficiency. In fact, vitamin A deficiency has many reasons ranging from heredity to environmental and each reason is accompanied with a solution of its own. therefore, providing vitamin A-enriched millet might not provide an ultimate solution to the problem of vitamin A deficiency considering that each vitamin A deficiency might have a different origin and therefore, might possess a different susceptibility to the breed of millet. therefore, the argument is lacking in that aspect as the author discusses the breed of millet to be the ultimate solution which may not be the case.

Second, although the interest of farmer is logical considering that despite the seeds of millet being costly, the farmers will receive a sum of money for farming millets. however, the authot does not provide enoug data regarding the percent of payment compared to the cost of the seeds. considering that farmers are amenable to farming millets since farmers are generally viewed as low class, it is possible that the amount of money they receive might be sufficient enough to cover the cost of seeds that they already paid for.

Thirdly, what distinguishes the new breed of millet to the original one? why is the general population interested in adopting this variety despite being a classical one already on the market? the author discusses that people will "readily" adopt this new modified variety of breed without providing enough explanation to what makes this variety more advantageous to the one already placed in the marker. it is possible that this new variety might possess a higher amount of vitamin A, although the auithor did not provide any data regarding the research behind this idea.

Finally, combatting vitamin A deficienty is considered the primary goal to promote this product in Tagus. the author discuss the motifs behind the government's interest to tout this new product. however, the author didn't explaion the types of measure that must be endured in order to ensure the people's desires to buy this product. As mentioned in the previous paragraphs, it is obvious that this new bioengineered type of food, is costy and no research was provided to explain its efficiency in battling vitamin A deficiency. Furthermore, what could trigger the people's interest in buying this new product if another variant form is already in the market which could be more economical that the new one.