Essay topics: The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Self-knowledge is one's ability to know and understand materials and concepts, whether familiar or obscure. It is practically impossible for an individual to become aware of new things and innovative ideas without taking into account old ideas and familiar concepts that came before. Therefore, in contract to the statement that declares that the best way to self-knowledge is the rejection of the familiar, I consider that knowing of familiar things, regardless what they are, is the best way to fathom new ideas and even use them in order to develop original strategies and processes.

Self-knowledge is more than just coming to know and comprehend things that aren't familiar to an individual; it is about one's ability to analyze and even apply those things in terms of previous things that one already knows. This arises from the concept that "new ideas arises from old ones". Therefore, rejection of familiar might hinder our ability to progress, to understand, to analyze and to develop and hence, diminishing the concept of what we call "Self-knowledge". In fact, the things that we call "familiar" or even "frivolous" are essential aspects to progress and development because from those things arise new and even more advanced ideas, strategies and procedures. Take into account "newton" strategy to develop the hypothesis of “gravity”. The strategy involves newton's saying "why does this apple fall down and does not go up". From this ludicrous question, newton became one of the most venerable physicist in history.

Another important aspect that refutes the statement and supports the idea that "self-knowledge arises from the familiar" is the fact that many years of studies are required for an individual to develop the ability to self-understand and analyze things on his own. For instance, every undergraduate college program requires its students to become familiar of the program by memorizing all the necessary concepts and aspects required before entering into graduate school where the student is expected to take into account all the information acquired from the undergraduate studies and therefore, to develop his own ideas, his own research and even his own ability to understand and analyze independently and coherently.

In conclusion, self-knowledge cannot be described by a simple word. In fact, it arises from various new and old ideas to understand what it means for an individual to become self-knowledgeable. However, in any aspect of self-knowledge, rejecting every idea that came before, does not acknowledge self-knowledge; on the contrary, it hinders it.