The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Finding the concept of self is an important life task to everyone. Some people would claim that rejecting familiar backgrounds is the key in achieving self-knowledge since the concept of true self should be seperated from backgrounds. Others would argue that these endowed backgrounds are necessary in shaping the personalities of people, eventually shaping self. I believe that we must review our backgrounds and habits. People's ideology is heavily affected by their surroundings and therefore we must regard them highly.

People who claim that we should reject the familiar would argue that, to find who we really are, we must throw away characteristics we share in common. It is true that the environment that we live in is much more influencial than genetic features. One recent research states that identical twins raised in opposite living environments resulted in opposite personalities. However, the concept of "self" is not a fixed term. Self varies constantly as we live; every time we have a conversation with people and understand new views, our concept of self varies. Therefore, it is pelucid that our environment is a mandatory factor when considering our self-knowledge.

Moreover, to understand our true self, we must review our habits. Familiar habits that we perform unconciously are indicators of our self-knowldege. I have a hobby of playing table tennis and computer games rather than watching TV during my free time. This implies that I like to move my body and make decisions myself, rather than accepting other people's ideas. As we can see from this example, analysing our habits and hobbies can help finding what our self-knowledge is.

Ultimately, after considering both sides of the recommendation, it is clear that our familiar backgrounds are crucial in finding self-knowldege. Our self-knowledge is inseperable from our environment and habits, as they are reflections of us.