The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the argument topic, the author states what it seems a logical way in order to increase the productivity of the companies’ employee by taking the “Easy Read Speed-Reading course”. Viewing at the benefits of this course, this might be a good way to increase, not only productivity, but the ability of the companies’ employee to grasp and analyze information. However, the argument lacks certain data and evidence in order to support the validity of this course. Therefore, certain questions still remained unanswered and by answering them, it is possible to provide the argument with more cogency and rationality.

First of all, it is intriguing to think that a singly course has the potential to do what was stated in the argument. Nevertheless, the author neglected to provide enough data, ideas and information regarding this course. For instance, what elements of this course would provide enough productivity to support the employees of the companies? Are there enough studies conducted on the efficiency of this course in the provision of productivity and reading comprehension in employees? This two questions are crucial and clearly considered when one starts reading this argument. By avoiding to answer them in the argument, the author didn’t provide enough emphasis behind the importance of the “Easy-Read Speed-Reading course”.

Second of all, are there any data and evidence that correlate the ability to read fast with the ability to absorb information? In fact, according to personal opinion, the faster you read, the slower would be the information processing because the brain wouldn’t have been given enough time to grasp and understand the information provided. It is surprising to consider that a graduate student was able to read and understand a 500 page report in only two hours. Accordingly, could this course provide techniques about how to increase one’s reading speed and simultaneously one’s reading comprehension speed? It is imperative to consider the possibility that this course has the potential to provide significant amount of elements and strategies in order to ensure that a student, for instance, could read a voluminous number of page in a small amount of time.

Finally, according to the argument, a 500$ per employee would be viewed as a small price considering the benefits of this course. However, was the price really too small? In fact, it all depends on the company and the number of employees it has. For example, one company would possess 100 employee, and hence, the “Easy Read Speed-Reading course” would be worth 50000 $. On the other hand, the course for a company with 1000 employees would cost 500000$ which is considerably higher.

In conclusion, the argument clearly presents an interesting view in how to increase the productivity of companies and, of course, of employees-to be. However, by considering the various hidden facets of this argument, we can question the efficiency of this course and even if it was demonstrated to be as efficient as expected, would it be economically possible to provide this course to all employees of a company as well as to all companies worldwide?