The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Undoubtedly, knowledge is the most important of every person living on this planet. Without knowledge nobody can survive in this world full of competition. Knowledge cannot be demanded but has to be attained by various practices based on several aspects of life such as learning, failing, trying, succeeding etc. As said, with learning knowledge can be attained and so learning gives rise to failure. I strongly support, the first step to self-knowledge is the rejection of our familiar thoughts or practices.

Primarily, every person at first tends to be in his comfort zone without trying anything with which they are not familiar. Practicing the things which are known to them will only make them good at that particular thing and if their motive is to learn then it would not be achieved by doing the mundane work. For example, if a person who is very good at a particular style of swimming would want to try new styles to be familiar with other styles too. But that does not mean the same person would be successful in that style too immediately. So here the word "rejection" comes into picture. Rejection always makes us learn many things which we should improve on to be capable of prosperity in that field.

Secondly, it is very important for a person to know which field they are most interested in. If a person does not tend to try new things then their area of interest would never be explored. Imagine, if Mother Teresa would not be inspired but helping others and just worked for her self betterment we would not have a great inspiration which we all now she was. Yes, people may face failures but that is not the end of life for them, it can moreover prove a boon in disguise that can help them know their weaknesses and strengths and would eventually lead to success.

However, rejection sometimes is very devastating. It can also depends on the cause that at what stage of life you are and what success would mean for you at that particular time. Our very first knowledge is when we are learning how to walk, leaning to speak, learning to eat etc. Surely there is no child that had entered in this world with all the knowledge available to him. So all this things which seems to be so easy for a grown up now would have been so difficult for a new born, "why"? , Because this was new to them. Exactly the point, the things with which we are not familiar tend to deactivate us momentarily, but eventually success over them can be easily achieved by hardworking and knowledge.

In sum, it is true that our thoughts, behavior, self-belief are all dependent on the actions we do. So if we limit our thoughts and actions to the things only familiar then it hurts our learning process. People should tend to learn different things out of their comfort zone even if tough at start would help them to learn many things which is the primary purpose. Also, rejection is a part and parcel of everyone's life. It should not hamper any people dreams but only make him stronger and more knowledgeable.