The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement claims that one will improve the self-knowledge by rejecting what is familiar to you. I completely agree with the author's recommendation as the history shows several luminaries who succeeded who followed this approach. one can improve the self-knowledge by learning new things rather than having a parochial mindset.

By rejecting the things that are familiar to you, one tries to try out multile things and in the due course he may find it difficult and sometimes may fail. but, by continuously trying out multiple things will help him/her learning and expanding horizons. there is no harm in having knowledge of things with are not familiar or outside one's intrests. By rejecting new things one will come up with new stategies to find solutions to problems, which may sometimes lead to new inventions. To illustrate, Alexander Flemming in his constant pursuit to find medicine to cure some prevalent desiase of his time--although have certain medications, which are not effective--came up with new discovery with is now known as pencillin. In addition, Columbus on his search for America found out a sea-route and discovered a new country India.

The above mentioned examples shows that by rejecting the familiar, one is in a good shape to find out more strategies--some may be improvised--and may sometimes leads to new discoveries and inventions. Many of the inventiones in the history are the products of this recommendation. Moreover, the whole research community is based on this and is continuously striving for improvised versions of the alredy existing solutions. For example, now-a-days internet is mandatory for everyone for their daily activities. The first internet supplied through cables and later shifted to air-trasmission which was followed by and improvised version 2G, then 3G and then 4G. research has not stopped there and is continuously striving to improve it to come up with improved spectrum. this constant motto of improving solutions and enhancing knowledge is possible only by rejecting what is known.

However, there are some problems with rejecting what is already known. Earlier, leaves are used as plates and then shifted to metal plates. These days some plastic untensils are prevalent which is degrating the environment, which is bad. Hence there should be a thought about the safety before getting inured to the new invention. but, the number of pros outnumbered the cons.

In conclusion, I agree with the author's recomendation for the above mentioned resons. but that self-knowledge should be used judiciously and should not be harmful t