The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that the autonomy of the country is based on the strength of its borders and if illegal immigrants entry is not checked then both the national economy and the identily are endangered. stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relis on the assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the autonomy of the country is based on the strength of its borders. this statement is a stretch and is not substantiated in any way. there are many other factors for the autonomy of the country. To illustrate, military intrusion is a common factor now a days. For a country like india, the neighboring countries' -- Pakistan and China -- military always try to intrude india's borders and interupt the integrity of the country. In addition, terrorism is also a major factor which disrupts the autonomous county and affects the country's economy, national identity and other major factors. The author could have been more clearer, if he explicitly stated that how autonomy is only based on the illegal immigrations.

Second, the argument claims that if the illegal immigrants are sent back to their origin country then the country's economy and national identity are not endangered. this again is a very waek and unsupported as the argument doesnot demostrate any correlation between how exactly illegal immigrants are problematic for the country's economy. The argument could add the following points to be strengthened by saying that the illegal immigrants are acting as the vote gerrymanders, possessing drugs, weapons and are acting as the anti-social elements whcih are a huge cost to the country's economic developement, as the country will fund a large portion of the economy for the public safety, which could be utilised otherwise.

Finally, the argument is concluded that if the illegal immgrants are sent back to their origin country then the country's autonomy is in safe hands and did not provide necessary evidence on how by doing this could enhance the nation's autonomy. Without answering the above metioned questions by provinding evidences or examples, the claim seems to be more of a wishful thinking rather than a substansive one.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons. The argument can be further strengthed by provding are the contributing factors. In order to assess the merits of a certain situation/decision, it is better to have the full knowledge of all the contributing factors.