Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

The author states that the progress of the technology is complicating our lives when it is intended to simplify our lives. this statement is a stretch and should be substantiated. I think technology is not making our lives complex and I disagree with the author's statement.

In the 17th century, the main focus to improve the lives of mankind and focused more on technology, which led to increase in the industries. The motto of the industrial rise is to make products and tools which will enhance the human standard of living. many examples from the past shows technology simplified the lives of human. For example, the invention of telephone eased the process of communication. The invention of flight by Right brothers eased the travelling long distances. there are countless examples to show how technology improved the human standard of living.

While the intention -- in the invention and new research in the feild of technology -- is to ease the lives of the mankind, there are few cases where we have adverse effects of technology. To illustrate, invention of combustion engine -- which uses petroleum products -- made commuting easier, but the harmful gases released during combustion has deleterious affects on the environment. this is a problem that has arised due to a technological invention. there are several examples ranging from invention of polyethene bags -- made of a chemical substance polyehthe which is not eco-friendly-- to invention of missiles, which have very harmful affects.

Scientists and many researchers are continuously working in crubing these adverse affects by coming up with eco-friendly alternatives. From the above mentioned illustrations, instead of combustion engines we have electric vehicles which runs on electric power; instead of using polyethene bags for carrying products we have other alternatives like paper bags and colth bags.

In conclusion, instead of having a apprehensive look towards the technology, it is better to have postive outlook towards it. Hence, I do not agree with the author's statement as technology have both positive and negative sides, the former is outrightly weighed more. researchers are always striving to improve the situation.