SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that the organisation supercorp moved it's headquarters from middlesburg to corporateville by assuming employees prefered to work from supercorp than middlesburg. stated this way the argument fails to explain several key factors on wich the conclusion of the argument is based. The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumptions for which there is not clear evidence. hence, the argument is weak, unconvincing and is flawed.

First, the argument readily assumes that there is a surge in number of homeowners in corporateville and hence claims that it is superior palce to live than middlesburg. this statement is a stretch and is not substantiated in any way. there could be many reasons for the surge in the number of homeowners in corporateville. For example, there is a real-estate boom in 2000 in Andhra Pradesh (ap) state of india and the reason for this surge is that there is a rumor about the proposed it Hub in that state. Though the place is not very superior to live than many other states in india, the real estate prices were more in ap when compared to other parts of the country. The argument would have been much more clearer if it explicity states that the living conditions of corporateville is better than middlesburg by providing evidences.

Second, the argument claims that corporatevile has lower taxes than middlesburg and hence a safer and cheaper place to work. this again is a very weak and unsupported claim as it is not properly substantiated with a proper evidence. there is enough evidence in claiming that lower the takes safer the work place. It would be much more clear and strengthened, if the author has provided more evidences for the correlation between lower taxes and saftey.

Finally, the argument is concluded by saying that the the organisation has made the best decision. "how did the author established the correlation between saftey and lower taxes in a particular region?", "how did he decide that surge in the number of homeowners has the relation with the living conditions of a place?". Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with an impression that the argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substansive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons. The argument could be strengthened by stating all the necessary factors. it is important to know all the contributing factors, in order to assess the merits of particular situation.