The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

The writer of the argument concludes that the radio station should stop world music and Latino then should start broadcasting only American music. However, this conclusion cannot be accepted because it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes as there were some complaints about broadcasting un-American music there will be reduction in listeners of that radio station. However, it cannot show that there is reduction in radio listeners. Maybe they want more American music in a way that they enjoy world music or Latino too. Therefore, as a result of omitting every kinds of music from the list of broadcasting apart from American music the number of listeners may not be augmented. Maybe they should add more American music in addition to other kinds of music.

The second issue with the argument is that the writer writes about the long-term supporters of the radio station but not the ordinary people, so there is no evidence to show public do not like the kinds of music which is broadcasting. Maybe the supporters' tastes are different from ordinary people and they reflected only their private opinion. Hence the critics cannot be accepted.

The third problem with the argument is that the writer of the argument thinks recent complains are reliable that they should change the programs according to them. However, in the statement it is mentioned that these kinds of music have been broadcasted through past year, while the complaints are dedicated to recent months. Maybe the bad quality of other programs in recent months led to dissatisfaction and it cannot be completely related to music tastes of people.

To conclude, the writer's conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumption each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.