We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer of the argument suggests that Monarch Books would be better off opening a place in its store as a café because it can absorb more people to this book store and leads to having better competition with its rival, Regal Books, which have opened a café in its shop recently. However, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes opening a café can bring more customers to the store. However, there is no evidence to show that this will happen after establishing a café. Maybe this store has a lot of avid readers as customers who come to the store just for buying books and the book store may lose its credit among book readers owing to becoming multi-user and losing its silence. In addition, maybe there is another popular café near to the bookshop which people tend to spend their time in that café and they do not need a new café, so this can be useless.

Another issue with the argument is that the writer refers to a survey which says the number of single-digit aged people decreased in recent years. But it is not mentioned how many people took part in the study reported. Maybe only ten people participated in the census which cannot be reliable for a country that has millions of people. Therefore, the findings of such a survey are neither reliable nor valid. Even if it is assumed that enough people took part in the survey, there is still another problem with the sample. In this argument, there is no evidence to show the sample whether the sample used was representative of the target population. Maybe all of them live in big cities but the book store is in a small city in which the birth rate may be different rather than big ones.

The third problem is that according to the writer this café should open a new café in order to compete better with Regal Books. Maybe this bookshop has a lot of customers due to its wide range of popular books, not because of its café and maybe it improved the quality of space of the shop and the books which led to more sale and there is no mention about the influence of newly established café in Regal Books' sales. Moreover, the price of coffee is so important. If it is unaffordable for most people it cannot help the store to boost its business.

In conclusion, the writer's recommendation cannot be taken into account, because it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The idea of opening a new café in the book store can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.