In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this statement, the writer asserts that without learning from achievements in the earlier years, nobody can make any noteworthy contribution. I strongly agree with this assertion because learning from mistakes and earlier works is what without which achieving a great success would not be possible and they can prepare a foundation for bigger successes that we do not have readiness for.

To begin with, every work and activity when it is done for the first time is raw and full of mistakes. It is sensible in any fields from business to scientific field even simple activities in daily routine in a way that we can say experiences are the backbones of future investigations. For instance, a toddler can walk after many times falling down. In addition, today we have supercomputers which were so simple in earlier years when the inventors made them for the first time and through endeavors and perseverance they become advanced and complicated.

Moreover, previous experiences whether they were successful or not can help us to learn from them. In any field, achievements through trial and error can make us sure about the situation in which we are because overnight successes and something that we get just by doing it once cannot guarantee we are right in that way, so there is always the possibility of failure. Take Edison as an example, he makes a lot of effort to invent electricity and after thousands of failures, he could get his aim which was producing electricity. After this achievement he stated that he was sure about hundreds of ways that did not lead to producing electricity, hence he examined new ways until he got what he wanted. Admittedly, some people say that past experiences may lead to learned helplessness which can block innovation. It is true completely but does not mean that you should throw away your past experiences and just think about new things. It is better off letting your mind innovate while you are completing your past achievements. Only in this way can you make the best.

In conclusion, past achievements can play a significant role in the way of getting a prominent success and everybody should lay a solid foundation by learning from the past experiences whether they were full of successes or failures.