Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is said that it is a must for governments to dedicate financial resources to metropolises to help them be alive. The reason is that saving these cities lead to preserving the cultures and traditions of a country. However, I am of the belief that big cities are not the holder of the culture of a country and this role is related to small ones and villages that they should be paid more attention to than big cities.

To begin with, today the major cities all over the world are becoming similar to each other because the main functions of a metropolis are like each other. Some monuments which were one day the signs of a country's culture, they changed to skyscrapers which do not have any historical past. In addition, constructing buildings for the increasing population in big cities need quick methods of construction which lead to resembling places in the world and the structures and facades which do not have any root and are not indications of the culture of a region.

Moreover, small cities and rural areas are home to the lion's share of a country's culture that they are remnants of the old times. In these areas, people tend to keep up their costumes, their cultures, and also they live in the style which related mostly to the past and shows their background and their ancestor's way of living. So it is necessary for politicians to dedicate a significant budget to bucolic places and ancient buildings there, improving their conditions. For instance, in my country, Iran, many monuments are in rural areas and they are going to be destroyed by the natural disasters or ignorance of the governors, so they need financial resources to be revived.

Admittedly, it is said that most of the tourists in a country visit the main cities of a country, hence we need to pay more attention to these cities than other towns and villages. However, I can say that the metropolises have their income through some recreational facilities like amusement parks or multipurpose centers which are suitable for strolling and buying some souvenirs. So the need for preserving historical items can be earned through other ways but government budget.

In conclusion, small towns and bucolic areas need more governor's attention in comparison to big cities if governments tend to protect their background and root because metropolises can supply their financial needs through other ways.