TPO 49 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and examples.

It goes without asying that in this progressive and complicated era in which we live, happiness is of the main concerns of the humankind. People find their happiness through their communications and relationships with others, and it is why making friends is so essential for individuals. While some argue that t long lasting friendship with limited people is the key element to happiness, others stand on the other side, arguing that the ability to make new friends is more important. Personally speaking, I believe that a small number of friends for a long period of time is more important, and I will make my side more clear in the next pararaphs.

First, the quality of the relationships is outweighted the quantity. It is crystal clear that the value of the friendship is determined by the willingness of a guy to extened his sympathy to the other one and the closeness of people involved in the relationship. In other words, to what extent they are capable to devote their time, energy and attention to each other. While people are in need, they require a hand to solve their problems and stay out of that unpleasant situation, and since old friendship is based on trust and firm connections, an old friend would be there to help. In these cases we feel so happy to have such great friends who can count on them when in need. A personal example can drive this notion home. Three years ago, I was bankrupted and I had many awful troubles delaing with my clients. I owed lots of money and I had to borrow some to solve my problems. I had the ability to make many friends easiy and it had given me the confident that I was a successful and happy person who could count on many friends. But when I asked them to give me money all of them rejected me and just one of my old friends who knew me well was ready to lend me some in order to make me happy and bring me out of that terrible situation. In sum, I became confident that true friendship was the old one.

Second, having firm connections with reliable friends who accompny us in all the ups and downs of the life, gives us a pleasant sense of confidence which leads to a permanent happiness. Although most of the time, making new friends is fun and gives us new experiences and a sense of excitement, but they are temporary feelings which do not last long. Moreover, finding new friends needs spending lots of time to become familiar with and due to the fact that our time is limitied, there is not sufficient time available to know many different people well. As a consequent, we start to feel anxious and worry about how to communicate with new friends. For example, two years ago, me and four of my friends enrolled in a gym club whare was full of many new people with different characteristics. I tried to be in contact with them and make new friends, but since I had not known them ahead, gradually I felt as if I am getting nervous with their unfamiliar and unpredictable responses compared to my own friends. Therefore, I switched to my old friends and started to feel better again.

The quality of a friendship and the trust are two importants factors to make us happy, and these factors are found in old friends, however, they are small in number.