Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

it would be beneficial for students to take up a variety of courses outside their main field of study, since, it helps the student to gain more insight into the world around them. However, universities should not pressurize the students to take up specific courses, rather, the students should be given the freedom of choice to choose courses of their liking.

let's first begin with the importance of taking up courses outside the student's field of study. The students will obtain a wide variety of skills which broadens their scope of study. Moreover, extra-curricular activities such as music, dance or sports helps in character development of the student. For example, consider a student who is studying Engineering and represents his college football team. football will help the student in understanding various aspects of life which cannot be thought in a classroom. he will learn the impotance of cooperation in a team, ability to never give up and realize what it takes to become a champion. These qualities will help the student to perform better in his academics and put him above other students in his class. thus, it would be useful for students to take up courses or activities outside their scope of study. let us take another example of a student who is currently pursuing Masters in Computer Science. she takes up an online course in the field of Electronics and obtains skills pertaining to it, and later she integrates both the fields to build a project. Here, the student broadens her portfolio and allows companies looking for both skillset to hire her. therefore, taking up a course outside own's comfort zone will help students to widen their scope of study.

Furthermore, when students take up extra-curricular activities, not related to their field of study, it gives their mind a break from the mundane activities and helps them relax. For example, a person who is pursuing a PHD in the field of Mathematics can play basketball regularly to relax his mind and body. By doing so, he is improving his body's physical as well as mental fitness and also, helps him concentrate better in his studies. The extra-curricular activities can range from just walking or jogging to playing professional sports. therefore, it would be beneficial for the universities to promote such activities in their college.

However, when taking up courses which are not in own's comfort zone, the students should realize that they cannot excel in every field. it is common to see people going into depression after they initially fail in a particular area. thus, the students should not take such activities seriously, and realize that their main scope of study is different and not pertinent to their extra-curricular. Their main focus should always be on their own field of study.

To summarize, universities should promote students to take up courses outside their field of study, since, it can have a number of positive effects on the student's mindset. it also broadens their current scope of study and enhance their abilities in a wide range of subjects.