The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's proposal to reduce operating expenses at movies galore's video rental stores in order to increase profits is filled with gaps and holes. although, the author's arguments sounds logical, he has failed to consider some hidden factors which might affect his plan on increasing profits.

Let us first consider a clear fault in the author's plan wherein he assumes that one store in downtown marston is similar to other nine movies galore stores. The author states that the store in downtown marston reduced its operating expenses last month by closing three hours earlier than before. Here, the author only states that the operating expenses of the store has decreased, but does not mention anything about the sales or profit of the store. it could be possible that, although, the store's operating expenses has decreased, its sales could have also decreased which might lead to declining profits. Even if the profits of the store might have increased last month, it does not indicate what the outcome of the next month will be or the month after that. hence, the author has made a clear mistake by using a very small sample set to prove his claim. In order to strengthen his position, the author should have taken results from at least a year to prove his point. Moreover, the author implies that the store in marston in similar to the nine other store. The other nine stores could be located in different places where the behavior and habits of the people might be different. Suppose, two of the stores might be located in urban areas where the people like to go out after 6:00 P.M. In such situations, it would be a mistake for the rental stores to closely early and thereby, losing out on many potential customers. hence, the author is clearly wrong in comparing the success of one store to other nine stores.

Additionally, the author states that the store in marston reduced its operating expenses by reducing its stock, eliminating all the movies released more than five years ago. By performing such a move, the store could lose out on many customers who are interested in watching old movies. The other stores could be located in areas where a majority of the people are fond of movies made five or ten years ago, hence the sales of the store could reduce drastically. therefore, it could be counter-productive to eliminate movies released five years ago.

Moreover, the author believes that the movies galore's video rental stores are famous for special bargains, therefore, raising the rental prices would not be a viable way to improve profits. The author does not indicate the scope and validity of this statement because there is no survey or interviews to prove his claim that store is famous for special bargains. it might be possible that people were fond of movies galore for the wide range of movies it offers and the ease of renting movies. hence, the author fails to take into account other factors which could have contributed to the reputation of movies galore.

To sum it all up, we can conclude that it might be possible to increase the profits of movies galore by reducing its operating expenses. but, the author fails to provide strong evidence to prove his statement and hence, there is no clear indication of increasing profits by reducing operating expense.