The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this argument, the owner of movies galore indicate that, they must reduce operating expenses in order to offset the declining profits. The factors that the author would like to reduce are quite reasonable for the conclusion these operating expenses play an important role to diminish the benefits of his store. However, there are some element he fail to consider and need to be cited to strengthen his inference.

first of all, the most significant vulnerable assumption he argues is there is not other reason which contributes to decrease the gain of store except operating expenses. Of course, there could be other important key to solve this problem. what if the number of the customer feel unpleasant for your rude employee? then, other solution he mentioned in the argument will be useless. what I think is the trend of profits would be closely related to the satisfaction of customer. therefore, I recommend him to first survey or ask his customer about their gratification of a chain of movies galore.

Secondly, In my view, raising prices could be an option to increase gain. if the owner of movie galore are struggling the problem of performance of his store even though the number of the customer are still enough to make profit, then the margin of product or net profit will be issued. In this case, one of the option is to announce in the front of the store to explain the situation and reasons why he need to increase the rental fee of his store.

thirdly, The support or reasons for reducing operating hours is not clearly specified. the correlation between reducing operating hours and profit need to be explained in more details. In general view, customer who visit his store after his work after 6 pm might be great source of his store to make profit. if he worries about the employee fee which should be paid for operating hours, more discussion on the trade-off between both need to be considered.

Moreover, reducing its overall inventory by no longer stocking any dvd 5 years go might not be good choice for their store's benefit. Since the paragraph describes the movies galore has several franchises, it can be inferenced the beginning of the movies galore, when the headquarter of movies galore has been held, is long time ago. therefore, the old customer who have been used the store for a long time ago might be great part in the compromise of customer set. by doing so, reducing old dvd players might be the worst option to lose the main old customer for several years.

In conclusion, if the above possibilities have been discussed, they could be cited to convince the reader who believe reducing operating expenses is best option to solve problem of their store's profits.