The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner of Movies Galore stated that because of the declining profits, they must reduce the operating hours in all of the ten movie-rental stores because were unable to increase the revenue from the DVD's as they were famous for their low prices. The owner of the Galore stores supports the above statement by providing the evidence which states that their store in downtown Marston received very few complaints about the store after implying the new policies in which they reduced their operating hours and also reduced their inventory by no longer stocking the inventory with the DVD's released more than five years ago. However, until and unless the owner provides with TWO evidence stated below, we have insufficient information to determine that by implying the above policies profit will improve.

Firstly, the owner is not providing any evidence to support that after reducing the operating hours from 9:00pm to 6:00pm at the downtown Marston store it engender profit increase. It may be possible that the profit of the store remains constant as before because the period between 6:00pm to 9:00pm, the number of customer who come to the shop were very less as compared to the customers who came before 6:00pm. If the number of people arriving before 6:00pm was too large and customers do not come after 6:00pm then reducing the time does not result in increase in profit. It may be contradicting with other branch of store located in a different area where the number of customers are even throughout the day. That is, it is possible that for each hour the store is open there are two customers buying the DVD's from the stores. In such a case it will have converse effects to reduce the time of store and also there is a probability that the number of complaints might increase after implying such policies on other branches. Hence, until the owner provides with evidences to prove that the above scenarios will be invalid. It is difficult to determine whether implying such policies might result in increase in profit.

secondly, the owner does not provide sufficient evidence to prove that by reducing the inventory by removing all the DVD's released more than five years ago would result in increase in profit. For instance, in the downtown area people may be interested in new DVD's and very less people would buy the DVD's that were launched five years ago. Therefore by removing the DVD's released more than five years ago will not result in increasing profit. However, by implying such strategies on the other ten stores might have an negative impact. There might be a possibility that people living near in the area where the other Galore stores are located might be interested in DVD's that released five years ago. This will lead more increase in profit loss. Further, the owner did not provide enough evidence to prove about the complaints received by the store. It may be possible that all the complaints received by the store in downtown were about the availability of the DVD's produced before five years ago. If the above scenario holds to be true then by implying such strategies might not result in increase in profit rather will have negative impact on the other stores. Therefore, until and unless the owner of the store does not provide with sufficient evidence that reducing the inventory by removing the DVD's produced five years ago will lead to increase in profit among the ten stores. We cannot state that implication of such strategies will lead to increase in profit of the Galore stores.

The argument is currently relied on some unwarranted supports that need further evidence to strengthen the statement that by implying the policies stated in the argument will lead to increase in profit of the Galore stores. The owner of the store should provide with more evidence for the scenarios stated above.