The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The aritcle written by Dr. Karp states that Dr. Field's observation about the childern of Tertia village, that children were reared by the other people in village rather than there own parents further the approach taken by Dr. Field is invalid and supports this by providing that recent interviews conducted shows that children talk about their own parents rather than talking about the people in island and the interviewing method is is better than the observation centric method. However, the conclusion is flawed and lacks in answering following questions.

Firstly, Dr. Karp is assuming that the culture used back twenty years ago is still existing.It is possible that the governing bodies might have changed since the twenty year period and may have made certain changes in the village, which might show that the children present in the village now have diffrent opinions contrasting the views of the children back then.It is also possible that people twenty years ago were more restricted and were taciturned about their culture and that is the reason why Dr. Field choose the observation- centered approach.This way of thinking might have changed since twenty year period and the people of the island are ready to share their culture with others.

Secondly, Dr. Karp is prescience that the team of graduate students who are currently performing the experiment on children of Tertia will result in estabilishing more precise understanding aboout the Tertian culture. It might happen that even if they are ready to be interviewed by the team of graduate students, they might not reveal their culture.