The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of the student housing at Buckingham college suggest that the college should build new dormitories. The above statement by the director is based on the evidence that the number of students enrolling in the college is increasing and is asserting by analyzing that the enrollment will double in next fifty years. He also states that the average rent for an apartment in the town has increased in recent years and it will be difficult for students to afford off-campus housing. However, the director of student housing does not provide following two evidence to support the arguement which might not result to be beneficial for the college.

First, the director is not providing enough evidence to prove that the students enrolled in the college do live in the dormitories. For instance, it might be possible that major students enrolled in the college are living with their families and they have their own houses. If this scenario is valid then by increasing the number of dormitories might not result in increase of enrollment at Buckingham college. It is also possible that the students who come to the college are living in nearby town which is at thirty minute distance from the college. Also bus service is available till the college for students who live in nearby town. In such a case building new dormitories will not be beneficial for the college as the num er of students who will enroll in college and will be staying in the dormitories will be less. Therfore, the director of the housing at Buckingham college should provide evidence to conclude that it will be beneficial to build new dormitories.

Secondly, the director is not providing enough evidence to conclude that average rent will be continously increasing. For instance it might be possible that a the the number of rental apartments in the town increased an the new apratments are providing housing at a very cheap rate. If the above case is valid then the students will choose to live in the rental apartments instead of living in the college dormitories. Thus, by increasing the number of dormitories will not be beneficial for the college. It might be possible that the students will choose the off-campus apartments to live because the other expenses which include the food and the other miscellenous activites is very high and the quality of service is also not worth it. In such a case student will opt for the off-campus apartments eventhough the rent is high as they would be able to compensate with other expenses like food by cooking their own food. In such a scenario increasing the number of dormitories might not have expected results. Thus, it is difficult to conclude whether the college should build dormitories or not and the director should provide evidence for the above reasons.

Lastly, the director is not providing enough evidence to prove that the enrollment at Buckingham college will double over the next fifty years. It might be possible that another college has started in the neighbouring town and has better facilities, teaching and better dormitories than at Buckingham college. In such a case their might be a possibility that the students will enroll in the other college and the aspiring Buckingham college students might also choose the other college instead of Buckingham college. Therefore, increasing the number of dormitiories might not be beneficial for the college. Therefore, the director should provide more evidence to conclude whether the college should increase the number of dormitories.

In conclusion, the above arguement is based on som unwarranted assumptions and the director should provide more evidence along with reasoning to conclude that building new dormitories will be beneficial for the college.