The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo given by the vice president of a company who builds shopping malls states that for the roads that are needed to be built as the access roads for the new shopping malls. They should hire Appian Roadways to built the road for them and not McAdam Road Builders. The vice president supports the above conclusion by saying that, a section of Rout 101, which was paved by the McAdam Road Builders is currently in very bad condition and also contains many potholes. On the other hand, a part of a road on Route 66 on the other side of the states which was paved by the Appian Roadways, built before 4 years is still now in good condition. The above argument is flawed as the vice president keeps short in answering the following questions.

Firstly, The usage of both the roads, was it similar? which means that the usability of both the roads is it comparable. Maybe, the roads on Route 101, which was built by McAdam Road builders is more heavily used than Route 66. Maybe Route 101 is a highway where only extra large vehicles run, and route 66 is only used by small vehicles. It may be possible that the state is too big and the weather conditions on one place is different than the other, now comparing the two roads they are located at two different parts of the state, that means may be the precipitation around Route 101 area is very high as compared to route 66, as precipitation leads damaging of roads very quickly. If the above question holds true then the argument is flawed.

Secondly, is the new paving machinery bought good and efficient than the previous method of paving roads used by Appian Roadways? Or, are the McAdam Road Builders do the same bad work they used to do before? It may be possible that the new machinery bought would not result in the quality of work that Appian Roadways used to do before they bought the paving machines, or it may be the case that, because of the old quality-control manager who was experienced in this field and the part of route 66 built under his supervision was very strong and the new quality-control manager is new in this field and does not have much experience than previous qc manager. It is also possible that currently McAdam Road Builders have much more advanced machinery and better team at work. There can be a possibility that, funding provided to McAdam Road builders might be less than the required funding, which forces McAdam Road Builders to choose low quality material. If any of the above questions prove to be true then the argument does not hold waters.

The conclusion of the argument, which is based on some unwarranted evidence may not be true until the vice president provides answers to the questions stated above along with some evidence in a form of research study. Also only one of the works of Appian Roadways is used. Thus we need more evidence to proof that the works of Appian Roadways are good. To efficiently evaluate the above questions are needed to be answered.