The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Firstly, the Vice President (vp) states that route 101 was constructed by gir two years ago is not in good shape any more, whereas route 40 was paved by ar four years ago is still well maintained. but before this point could be noted in favor of ar, we need to understand several important details. first, what is the flow of traffic on the two roads? it could route 101 might be experiencing ten times more traffic than route 40. also. route 101 might be preferred for heavy vehicles carrying cargo whereas, route 40 is travelled by general public in their 1100-2300 CC cars. second, what has been the maintenance schedule for two the roads. it could be route 101 is only repaired once a year whereas patches are laid on quarterly basis for route 40.

Secondly, in favor of ar, vp states that they have recently purchased new machinery and also hired a quality-control professional. but it remains unknown if these silent features are missing with gir or not. we are unsure if gir has a function governing the quality of the services or not and if they under-equipped and have outdated technology. if the latter is the situation, then it should be mentioned to support the debate. also, it not discussed if the equipment will be deployed for the type of paving that will be required for our new roads. it could be the case that it will be used for constructing the roads on mountainous topography whereas the city has lowland plain terrain. In such a case, the new technology will be of no use to us. Moreover, before we could consider the new resource as a plus point for ar, we need to know how ar team has been managing the quality-control function so far. it could be that they already had someone in the team working in the same capacity and since that person has moved out, an equally qualified new manager has been recruited as replacement. In this case there be very less or no significant value addition.

Thirdly, the writer presents his case with the presumption that since ar has been successful with route 40, it will be the right choice for new roads and if ar is shortlisted then the roads will be required to repairment only after next four years. but before these could be finalized, various details need to be taken into consideration. first, we need to factor the specification of new road such as flow of traffic and soil condition of the area. second, it should be confirmed if the maintenance schedule has been shared after discussion with ar or not.

it might be true that route 40 might be better product than route 101, but before we could proceed with any decision, the above queries but answered.