Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The opinion states that government should withdraw funding from art and rather concentrate on eradication of unemployment and hunger. Unemployment and hunger are two growing problems of the World. These menaces are rising at alarming rate. Every year, many people starve to death due to financial crunch they face. The financial constraint are resultant of unemployment that has spread like an epidemic. To reduce or eliminate these problems, government requires to take remediation measures. The dilemma is if the government should suspend the funded allocated to arts and rather focus it on fight starvation and unemployment. I disagree with the argument.

Often, the value of art is questioned by many. Art includes painting, architectural and interior design, print-making, communication design and performing arts such as plays and show. The field of arts is extensive and encompasses wide scope and is of immense significance. Firstly, it is a form of expression which conveys emotions, social issues and other political history of the country. The art reflects culture and tradition of the country, thus it would not be wrong to consider it as identity of the nation.

Secondly, the field of art jobs create varying levels and descriptions. The faculty member of university offering courses in arts, museum and gallery staff members, actors, production house staff, writers and directors are employed due to advancement of the field.

Thirdly, the applied disciplines are contributing to development of other fields. Print-making majors serve the textile industry, while architecture and interior designer provide service of their creativity to construction firm. Design Communication is enabling the efficiency of the marketing functions.

Unemployment and hungry are major concerns of the societies, but diverting funding from art would not result in improvement of the situation, rather it will act as catalyst in worsening the condition. Thus, the government should not be discouraged to invest in this valuable field.