The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Adverting Director (ad) of Super Screen movie production Company (ssmpc) has raised a memorandum for an extension in the budget of following year to increase to reach out wider circumference of audience through marketing. However, the since the case is rife with gaps and thus it is not cogent.

The ad has pointed fewer people attended the ssmpc movies these year from previous years even though the reviews have shown positive trend during the year compared to the one before. now the first question that comes into mind is what were the genre of the recent films? We understand owning to feedback of reviewers, the production value must be at least reasonable. but were these are art , while those produced in past were commercial films? since, often stories on challenging subject are appreciated by intellects. but it hardly reaches to watchlist of general public. Also, it could be the films might be inappropriate for families and thus these are being watched by selective audience.

Secondly, it could be inferred from the memo, the ssmpc production is not reaching out to people. To back this claim, the ad should have elaborated the past and current situations. Were the promotion campaigns more extensive for commercially profitable hit of ssmpc in past, while now the focus has not been the same prior to releases? Were merchandise-related to movie characters were distributed and events were sponsored to make them talk of the town? has the department conducting only some limited activities now due to costing constraints? what are their future strategy to market the products better? How will they manage it with the requested budget?

The popularity of ssmpc movies might have decline during the year while the production might have a proven track record, but before the funding allocation of adversity function could be increased, the management would need response against the above queries to reach to a decision.