While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

The writer has tried to pursue teachers of the high school to give homework only twice per week by sharing the survey data of two districts; sanlee and marlee. However, the content is not cogent enough since it rife with holes.

The letter reports that math and science teachers of sanlee assign homework to student on daily basis, whereas in marlee the home assignments are assigned only twice or thrice a week. now the question that come to reader’s mind is what sort of tasks are instructed to the children to be completed at home. it could be that at sanlee, the students are advised to read the chapter taught in class to develop better understanding of the concept, whereas marlee students are required to do tedious copy paste of questions and answers and draw difficult diagrams. if the case is similar to this, then sanlee students are involved in more productive work than that of marlee. And this will on contradict the author’s presumption that students of marlee are focusing more on individual work. Plus, there could be possibility that students of marlee might be getting homework from than other subject teachers on daily basis, whereas in sanlee this might not be the case. this way the total time spent on homework in Sarlee would be less than marlee.

Subsequently, the writer has claimed marlee students are doing better in academics than sanlee. now, first we need to understand if the quality of education is same at two places. it could be at sanlee, syllabus could be more extensive and therefore it would be difficult for an average student to score well. The author should have shared results of some standardized test to his strength his view. Also, we need to understand at which subjects the students are doing well and at which are they lacking. it could be the marlee students might be better at languages and this is where the student body of sanlee are lacking. this will overrule the argument since the entire discussion is focusing on math and science.

it might be that the student of marlee would be getting less homework from their math and science teachers than sanlee. But, until the entire situation of both cities are taken into account, no conclusion could be reached by high school regarding homework assignment practice.