The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer has argued in favor of unmanned space flight over manned presenting her rationale. However, the debate is not cogent enough since it rife with assumptions and holes.

The first reason shared in the letter against manned spacecraft is that it costly and dangerous, but no statistics on recent crashes have been stated that would strengthen the case. we all have heard of some unsuccessful incidents in past, but those occurred decades ago. The technology has advanced to a great extent. writer’s presumption that situation is same it was years ago does not seemed valid. The writer has stated the cost of unmanned space mission would be much less and economically feasible, but no estimation has been provided to elaborate the point for understanding of the readers. For the unmanned flight, in addition to building more well-equipped control and communication system for the craft, as the it is handled remotely, robotic probes have to be designed, developed and tested. cost for these cannot be ruled out when one is looking into money matters.

Secondly, the author has explained that recently, some unmanned space projects have been successful but no details have been included to highlight the exact achievements. we have not been informed if the these have been able to reach the same goal as the astronauts’ visit into the outer space. Also, it has not been stated if the machines are incorporate with artificial intelligence so that could analysis the environment of other astronomical bodies and decide on action accordingly. Or on contrary, these bots limit their activities to what they have been pre-programmed to do? In latter cases, will the space program be as efficient as it would be under supervision of an individual?

Although there will be pros and cons of human-based space missions and the modern technology has enabled human being to be replaced by machines. but how effectual this will be remains the question. Until the above queries are explored, it is difficult to reach to a conclusion.