Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Countries that are in a situation of severe destitute should not support arts, rather they should implement government-funded programs to help the people in need. Nevertheless, the possibility of arts as a mean to enhance mental health in penurious situations should also be given a second look.

First of all, the government should be responsible that their citizens are provided with the basic rights: that they are provided food and water, have a safe shelter, and are able to wear clothes. It would be wrong to relegate legislators that overlook these basic rights of the people because they should make policies that are favorable to the people of their hometown or nation. For instance, President Lee Sung Man was highly denunciated for his wrong using of government budgets to enhance traditional music: the people wanted food subsidy, not music to show off to other visiting countries.

Next, the government doesn't have any obligation to support these disciplines even in times of frugality. The cherishment of the mind could not be considered as the basic rights of humans, even though the contemporary society underscores the importance of the sound mind. Basic rights should be defined as what we want to accomplish as humans not the means to accomplish it. For instance, it would be wrong to assert that the access to music concerts is a right because it ensures a peaceful state of the mind: the concert would be a means to the mind not the state of the mind itself. Hence, although it is the government's duty to ensure the mental health of the people, the methods used by the individuals should be meet by one's endeavors.

Nonetheless, mental poverty may be more miserable that material poverty: such mental poverty can be cured by art. By listening to music or watching a movie, people will be able to refresh their minds, which might enable them to see the silver lining. A remarkable example is the Federal Arts Project by the US president Roosevelt. Even though the policy raised controversy in the era, in the end it was able to flourish with the conviction of Roosevelt. Consequently, the government should not overlook in funding arts that have a lasting value.

In conclusion, even though funding arts may seem inhumane in penurious situations, the funding of creations with perpetual value should not be overlooked.