Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowledge about an subject plays an important role in students career. The things that they learn in their degree hold much high value. Therefore the students should be profound in whatever they have been taught which will be beneficial for them in their career. The prompt suggest that students should not passively accept the things that they are taught and should question the learnings. I completely agree with the prompt for following two reasons.

Students should always know what and why they are taught with some things. Instead of blindly accepting them, the students should question for why should they learn particular things that they are been taught. Students who are studying in their graduate school should always know for what reasons the things that are being taught to the students are helpful. If they neglect the basics or do not ask questions for what and why they are learning a particular thing, it may have bad effects on the students. For example, for a student who is enrolled in machine learning course in his masters. He should know the basics of linear regression. Blindly accepting the fact that linear regression is important in machine learning and simply learning it might not be helpful for the student. Instead he should always question for why linear regression is important and how is it helpful for him in mastering the subject. Therefore, simply accepting whatever is taught to a student by his teacher will not be of much benefit and students should always question what they are taught by their teachers instead of blindly accepting whatever they are taught.

Secondly, not always are teachings of a teacher are correct. It might be possible that a teacher teaches students some incorrect information because of his mis learnings. It's human tendency to make mistakes and teachers can also make mistakes sometimes. A student should always be curious to ask whatever they have been taught and should question and by questioning in a case mentioned above it will prove to beneficial for both the student and the teacher. For example, consider Josh who along with machine learning took spanish as an extra subject. He also has an habit of questioning of what he is taught and the teacher makes an mistakes while teaching a spanish symbol and interprets it in a incorrect manner. All of the student who blindly accept of the teachers teaching will agree with the professor but they are learning wrong things in this case incorrect interpretation. When Josh questions for why it the symbol mentioned by the professor is interpreted in that particular way the professor might recognize his mistakes and correct it. It will be beneficial for both Josh and all the other students who blindly accepted whatever the professor taught. Hence, it is important for students to question whatever they have been taught instead of blindly accepting things.

There are students who are very shy and are afraid that their impression might get damaged in front of the professor if they ask questions. However, professors are there for solving students problems and they will never justify a student on the basis of their questions. Therefore, it is always beneficial for students to question the learning's taught by their teachers instead of blindly accepting them.