Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning is an integral part of life. You learn new things everyday, no matter how trivial they are, right from correcting grammar to learning new tricks in Excel worksheet. The prompt states that students should be active learners rather than accepting what comes in their plate. I strongly agree with this statement for the following three reasons.

To begin, the current market requires skilled professionals rather than the ones who get away with things delivering something haphazardly. This requires in-depth knowledge of the subject. Everyone is a student at first, you need to learn or understand a subject before you practice it, isn’t it? There is plethora of knowledge around, how much to take depends on how much you want and the best way of doing so is questioning the master. For instance, a small child, when he is first asked to brush his teeth, what is his first question? Why do we brush teeth? Secondly, What happens if you don’t brush our teeth? Why do we brush twice a day and so on, the parents generously provide answers to the question and that is how the child understands the importance of brushing and makes sure he brushes his teeth everyday also spreading the word to his friends. In the above example, if the child wouldn’t have been inquisitive about the reason behind brushing, he wouldn’t have done it daily and hence, questioning proved the best way to create an impact in his case.

Further, credits to the advancement and accuracy of technological devices should be given to the critics who are always apocryphal about the new things introduced in the market. For example, the first time Reliance stakeholders put the metro plan in front of their leads. The plan was lampooned with a surfeit of questions and negations. But considering these questions, new ideas evolved and the plan was actually implemented by the Government of Maharashtra and now wanting to implement more metro lines in response to the success. The example above can be professionally interpreted as the stakeholders being the teachers wanting the leads to implement the plan as it is and the leads being the students questioning their masters to get a detailed insight into the plan which in turn resulted in making it better.

To enlighten further, would you not like to know why you are asked to understand a particular topic in school? Or what happens if you write a computer program in an incoherent way? Consider simple computer sequence of opening a new file. As an ingenious and naive student, one would blindly follow the steps dictated by the teacher and would succeed in creating a new file. This experience would have been more interesting if the student would have asked the teacher the reason behind clicking the icons present on the screen and understand the actual intricacy of clicking on each icon. This would not only leverage the students knowledge but also allow him to deal with any problems occurring with file opening in future.

Of course, some argue that one must passively accept what is being taught as the one who teaches is the master of what she teaches. However, isn’t that a limitation to the process of learning? Questioning what you are taught definitely gives a firm grip over the topic and makes you think analytical about the subject in consideration.