The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt suggests recommendations in order to increase profit of movies galore’s ten video rental store as it recently faced decline in profit making. it assumes the profit making process to be equivalent to the other store located in Downtown. there must be answers of the questions that arises while comparing to the other store’s profit making scenario and there must be enough analysis for the reasons why the decline occurred.

Firstly, galore’s other nine stores might have different market than the one in Downtown Martson . may be the Downtown Martson is located in such a place where people get back to their home earlier. that’s why closing the store at 6 pm instead of 9 pm worked there. The people there might have work in the evening so they don’t go to movie stores after 6 pm. The same thing might not happen for any of the other nine stores as people mostly prefer watching movies at night and go to the store to collect movies at the evening.

Secondly, reducing stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago might not work for other stores. Do they prefer watching recently released movies only? don’t they have a taste on classic movies that are mostly not released within five years? is the market of the stores is consisted by the teenagers or young adults only and not senior citizens? if not then the assumption is completely wrong in order to make more profits in those stores.

Finally, considering the fact that they are famous for their special bargains, the question arises why the recent decline of the profit occurred? has the preference of consumers changed while choosing budget friendly products? are they considering low price movies as not the quality maintained products? are they going for products with higher rates assuming that it would ensure better quality? if so, then the assumption that raising rental price is not good to improve profits is completely wrong.

In conclusion, the above prompt has made assumptions based on not so credible evidences and has not considered many of the scenarios that may have occurred behind the cases mentioned. it must have valid answers of the questions mentioned here. only then the prompt would be considered as viable otherwise not.