Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Laws are present everywhere for the welfare and protection of the people. However, in some cases, laws are too stringent, not taking into account the some extra ordinary circumstances and places. Laws should be made flexible enough to make sense in a practical environment.

Consider, the recent increase in fines across India for traffic violations. Though, this move has received accolades from many prominent people, it has faced backlashes from the common man. increasing fines for violating important rules like not wearing helmet while riding two wheelers, consuming alcohol and driving or not wearing seatbelt while driving a car is justifiable. However, some fines are very steep and unjustified for some petty violations like no-parking and other small violations. Sometimes, motorists or cars standing behind huge vehicles like buses or trucks, will not be able to sight the signal. hence, they may jump the signal unknowingly and the cops catch hold of them for breaking the rules. In such cases, the cops must realize the situation and understand the problems of the common man. Therefore, there must be some flexibility in enforcing laws in different circumstances.

Additionally, let us consider the example of schools not allowing kids to enter the school even though the kids arrive only a few minutes late. it is understandable that motive behind these rules is to enforce discipline in kids. but, recent traffic congestions in the city during morning peak hours makes it very difficult for parents to drop off their kids at the school at the exact time. hence, some concessions must be given to kids and allow them to enter the schools or college even if they are a few minutes late. some schools even go to the extreme implementation of these rules and not allow kids to write the exam if they are even a minute late. this can some adverse effects on the kids education if he/she is not allowed to appear for some important examinations. it is also possible that the kid might have been late due to some unforeseen circumstances, like a flat tyre or there might have been an accident on the road which caused traffic congestion. hence, the institutions must take into account of these circumstances and allow students some margin of error before enforcing strict rules upon them.

However, in some cases, laws should not be made flexible at all. In situations where crimes are committed intentionally, like murder or driving under the influence of alcohol, the accused must not be given bail under any circumstances. hence, the government must ensure that they are implementing the rules very strictly in these situations.

To summarize, we can conclude that laws should be made flexible enough to accommodate various circumstances, times and places. The lawmakers should take into account the problems faced by the common man in a practical environment and realize that rules cannot always be withheld in every situation.