The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Monarch books board of directors have recommended that monarch books should open a café in its store as it will attract more customers and will help monarch book to better compete with regal books which has recently opened its own café. The recommendation is based on the action taken by regal book. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated and confirmed that it will have predicted result three questions must be answered.

First of all, will attracting more customers reflect on more books sale? In other words, will monarch book store be able to increase it's book sales if more customers visit the store? What if customers only come to the store to have a coffee and a cookie at the café and are not interested in buying any book? It is possible that customer might come to the café pick a book and read it till the time s/he is having coffee and then leave without purchasing a book. Answers to the above questions will determine if the recommendation will fetch the expected results or not. If any of these scenario listed as question holds good then the recommendation by board of directors will not work.

Secondly, it is recommended that monarch book replace the kids book section with café and assumes that demand for kid books will decrease in coming future. One need to understand if a similar arrangement has been done by regal book. Did regal book also replaced the kid book section with Café? If regal book has not done that and regal book still continues to sell kid books then monarch book will not be able to compete with regal book in kid book sales. Even though it is mentioned that percentage of population of kid under 10 is declining it doesn't necessarily mean that kid books will not be sold and as recommendation is to replace the kid section with café monarch will loose on selling kid books. In case any of the scenario has merits, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Lastly, are monarch book shop and regal book shop the same? What has worked for regal would work for monarch? What if regal's café is doing good business in café sales but café business has no impact on the book sales. What if regal has a free parking and monarch does not have free parking and customers have to park their vehicle at a paid parking charging by the minute. It is important to understand answers to the questions listed above to evaluate if the board of director recommendation will show expected result or not.

Stated in this way the recommendation fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore, the recommendation is rather weak, unconvincing, and has several flaws.