Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Although it wouldn't harm corporations to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate, their main focus should be on making as much money as possible. The corporations have a moral obligation to make money for their shareholders and investors. hence, it would not be feasible for corporations to put their efforts and focus on promoting the well-being of societies or environment.

corporations are basically big companies which involve a lot of money and resources. This money belongs to the shareholders who have invested in the company in the hopes of improving their wealth. spending the hard-earned money of shareholders on promoting the well-being of societies would be morally wrong. Therefore, the corporations must ensure that the money and resources belong to the company should be used as efficiently as possible with the main foucs of making money. since, corporations pay huge amount of taxes to the government, they are indirectly fulfilling the role of promoting the social and economic well-being of the society and environment in which they operate. hence, the duty lies upon the government to ensure that these taxes paid by the corporations are being used effectively to operate many schemes to improve the standards of living of the society. since, the taxes paid ensure promoting the well-being of the society, the corporations have fulfilled their duties and need not spend any additional resources for social welfare.

Although, corporations need not do perform any additional duties to improve the well-being of the society, they should not, however, perform any activities which could put the environment or the society at risk. For example, let us consider the practices of large oil corporations. they are constantly criticized for engaging in oil spills in oceans and thereby, harming the environment. The oil spills contain toxic material which endangers the marine life and pollutes the water which might eventually be consumed by humans. let us take another example of factories operating near the monument of taj mahal, which is one of the Seven Wonders of the world, very famous for its architecture and history. The taj mahal is completely made of white marble which is very appealing visually and one of a kind structure across the globe. The various factories near taj mahal release harmful gases which has resulted in the white marble changing its colour and the smoke coming out also pollutes the environment. hence, corporations should ensure that even though it does not contribute to promote the well-being, it should never do anything which might result in negatively affecting the society or environment.

To summarize, we can conclude from the above examples that corporations need not devote any additional resources or money to promote the well-being of the society and prime importance must be given to making money. however, corporations can arrange a few events a year to boost public sentiment in their favor and also follow ethical business practices which can improve the lives of people and also making the world a better place.