The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's proposal to increase the budget for advertising, in order to improve the success of super screen-produced movies, is filled with gaps and holes. The author, though logical in his reasoning, fails to cite concrete evidence to prove his claims.

To begin with, the author states that a recent report from the marketing department showed that, during the past year, fewer people have attended super screen-produced movies than in any other year. The author fails to provide the scope and validity of this report. For example, the marketing department might have falsely portrayed the lower number to increase the budget of the advertising team, which comes under the marketing team. moreover, there is no information provided regarding the survey conducted to obtain these results. hence, it would be incorrect for the author to base his claim on this certain report. Furthermore, the report states that "fewer" people attended the super screen movies last year. it might be possible that the movie industry, as a whole, could have been affected by online streaming services over the past year, and hence, led to fewer viewers for all movies. To strengthen his position, the author should have provided exact figures for the decrease in people, since the term fewer people could mean 10 people or 1000 people too.

Additionally, the author claims that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers increased over the past year. The author, once again, fails to mention the exact increase in percentage. hence, the percentage increase in positive reviews could be 1% or even 50% for that matter. We can cannot make any assumptions regarding this figure, and therefore, this evidence cited by the author cannot be taken into consideration. moreover, the reviews are given by movie reviewers, who are professionals and view the movie with a different persperctive and thus, these reviews only depict their views towards the movie, and does not portray the opinion of the general public. thus, to prove his stance, the author should have considered the reviews provided by the general public along with the movie reviewers.

Building upon the above implications, the author concludes that the problem lies with the public's lack of awareness regarding good quality movies, and not with the quality of super screen movies. As shown previously, the author's claims are baseless since he does not substantiate it with reliable sources of evidence. thus, super screen could allocate their advertising budget for other reasons, but, it would not be wise to form their decision based on the author's arguments.