The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people

The author claims that the greatest indicator of a nation is marked by the welfare of its people and not the achievements of its rulers, artists, scientists and other prominent persons. Although it looks deceptive at first glance to be supportive of this claim, the welfare of its people alone does not mark the greatness of a nation. if we look at the examples of some eminent figures over the course of history, it becomes clear on how they have left a mark on the world stage and made the nation very popular across the globe.

let us first take the example of the scientists at NASA who first made it possible to make humans travel to space and land on the moon. this was no simple task and required a lot of great minds and their hard work which has contributed in making this mission a success and made an unthinkable task realistic. At a time when the thought of a man landing on the moon was beyond the scope of thinking of many people, these great minds made it happen and Neil Armstrong became the first man to land on the moon. As a result of this mission, it inspired many other nations to look beyond the scope of the human planet and discover the vast galaxy beyond earth.

Additionally, let us look at a very prominent artist Giovanni who hails from Italy has made it presence all over world due to his exquisite paintings. His paintings have always been bought at great prices at auctions and has received widespread praise from many prominent critics. At a time when Italy was known for its food and was associated with its artistic skill, Giovanni made Italy's presence felt all over world due to his artistic skill. His achievements led to the rise of many other great painters from Italy and has made Italy the art capital of the world.

Alternatively, if we think about the welfare of nation, it also plays a major role in how the country is heading towards the future. Take India for example, where almost a majority of people live in poverty and make it difficult to make ends meet. but in spite of all the difficult conditions, India has many achievers in the field of science and art.

To sum it all, the greatness of a nation cannot be determined only by the welfare of the people but many other factors play an important role. The achievements of the nation is what leaves a mark on the world stage. In light of this, we can conclude that though the author's claim is not exactly true it does prove to be true to a certain extent.