Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

although, the author cites a few valid and cogent reasons for choosing the construction company alpha over zeta, the statement is filled with gaps and holes. The author makes many invalid assumptions to prove his stance.

The author states that “ten years ago” two new office buildings were constructed by two different construction companies. since, the event occurred ten years ago, a lot of things could have changed at the two companies, for the better or the worse. zeta might have acquired additional resources and expanded, hence, they might be able to construct a more enhanced building than alpha. hence, the author cannot make his decision to use alpha over zeta by using historical data. To strengthen his case, the author should provide insights into the two companies over their recent works to make his case.

although, the author states that the two buildings had identical floor plans, it does not provide adequate information on how the buildings appeared in real after construction was completed. The author claims that the construction cost of zeta was 30% more than alpha, but it does not provide any information on the materials used for construction. zeta might have used some premium raw materials to make the building look more attractive and appealing to people. hence, the author does not take into account, the appearance or the durability of the two buildings.

Furthermore, it has been stated that the energy consumption of zeta building was higher than the alpha building. The energy consumption of the zeta building could have been higher due to more lighting and air conditioning inside the office or it could be due to some advertisement boards put up outside the buildings. hence, these two factors could in fact be more favourable to the company since the employees are more comfortable inside and the company gets popularity due to the advertisement board outside. The author does not realize that a small price to pay for energy consumption could be beneficial to the company.

although, alpha has a stable workforce, it does not guarantee that the employees are more efficient than their zeta counterpart. hence, to sum it all up, there may be a few logical arguments favoring alpha over zeta, but the author does not make a strong case to support it and fails to take into account many important factors that might affect the new building project.