The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the argument in the memo that the company should choose Zeta for their building program, because of less expense in maintenance and energy consumption in building it constructs. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence. The argument could end up being much weaker than it seems, or it might actually be quite valid. In order to make that determination, we need to know more than analyze what we learn.

Firstly, the evidence that the relation between the construction consumption, the maintenance expense and the energy consumption is significant. The vice president only demonstrate that Zeta requires half of the building maintenance expense, lower energy cost in comparison to Alpha, but whether these can offset the more construction cost that Zeta asks for? Zeta costs 30 per cent more than Alpha in construction cost, if this cost is much higher than the expenditure mentioned before, we can conclude that Alpha will be a better choice when considering overall costs. If this is the fact, the president's argument will be strongly weakened.

What's more, since the vice president mentioned that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employ turnover, we need similar data from Alpha. If Alpha has a equally stable workforce pool or even better, or Alpha's employ turnover is also puny, it will be a disadvantage for Zeta to be chosen as the right building construction company. Even granted that Zeta indeed has a better workforce quality than Alpha, we cannot draw a strong connection between the good workforce condition with a perfect construction consequence. Provide that Alpha's workers have longer working experience or had better skill training before, we cannot promise that Zeta will have a better performance than Alpha. We need the evidence that revels different aspects of the workforce condition of the two companies such like the average age of workers, average working experience of the workers. If it turns out that Zeta's workers are all in a bad condition, the arguer's suggestion will be weakened in turn.

Moreover, we are supposed to consider the construction style of the two company. Except expenditure and workforce condition, we also need the detailed evidence of the two companies' own building style and building standard. For example, we should check whether Zeta or Alpha has ever cheated in their building program. If Zeta's low construction cost is due to its unqualified construction procedures, it is unwise to think that Zeta indeed has a advantage over Alpha. We can also ask for the building pictures which they have taken part in, so we can be informed about their preference in building materials or the whole design standard the can master. whether Zeta's art preference matches the company's need or not will have an influence in the validity of the vice president's argument.

In conclusion, although the vice president provides some information to support his/her opinion, there are still problems with his/her lines of reasoning. Zeta may indeed be a good candidate, but we cannot logically draw this conclusion based solely on the information provided by the vice president. More evidence is needed to determine whether Alpha or Zeta should be selected as the new project's contractor.