The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that since the building’s constructed by Zeta is cheaper to maintain, it is worth the additional cost at the moment in which the building is constructed. Therefore, the company should contract only Zeta for its next office constructions. The vice president uses the difference in construction and maintenance costs as evidence to support that conclusion. However, the author makes several major assumptions that need to be addressed before the decision maker, whoever it might be, could accept or reject the argument.

First, the author assumes that the locations in which the regional headquarters were build are similar and that the weather conditions are the same. As a result, the maintenance costs and energy expenditures should be quite similar. Although, imagine if one were built in California and the other in Sweden. There will be clearly two different patterns of energy consumption during the year and two totally different weather conditions. Moreover, the maintenance each building required in the last years needs to be detailed, since it could be a consequence of poor building techniques or simply different tax regimes, for instance.

Furthermore, the memo considers that the usage pattern of both buildings was the same. Accordingly, the energy consumption should equal. However, imagine that one building is at a certain location that provided much more business to the company and had several more workers. It is clear that this building, no matter by who it was constructed, will have a higher energy bill. Additionally, one should consider that the energy cost in both locations might not be the same at all.

Finally, the vice president appears to believe that the regulation issues in both places are not distinct at all. If one location has a stricter regulatory apparat and this imply in more costs to receive the licenses needed in order to have the permit to build, that construction will be obviously more expensive, no matter the quality and engineering techniques applied. Additionally, one should also consider the construction costs imposed by corruption. There can be corruption to get the permits, there could be corruption in the building company, there could be corruption among construction workers. Without doubt these are major issues that need to be considered.

I can concede that what the author has presented is a potentially good idea, but we still do not have enough information and evidence to conclude that this is the best way to go. In fact, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions that need to be addressed in order to provide evidence to support or reject the critics made above.