A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The economics Nobel laureate James Heckman is well-known for his studies on the impact on first childhood for human development. Their papers focus on the important role played by those first years in someone’s brains capacity. Even that it seems that those results are common ground, there is still a large debate on what comes next. What is the importance of education in our societies? many agree that education is cardinal for human development, but the real question belies on what we consider as education. It is only formal education? Parents and teachers are complementary or substitutes? On that matter, should a nation require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college? Even it might seem, at first glance, that the answer is yes, we actually disagree and explain our concerns in the following essay.

To begin with, we should address the question of what will compose that national curriculum and who will be responsible to create it. It will be a static curriculum, or it will be refreshed every 5 years? It will be susceptible to political and ideological influences? Imagine that a very conservative and religious party win the next general elections and wants to implement a new form of education, focused on religious paradigms, not relying on scientific evidence. If there is a national curriculum policy, it is expected that in a few years there would not be any critical thinking anymore. That should not be allowed as it threatens democracy and development. it could be a restriction of individual freedoms!

Further, as policy makers, we should care about the implementation of such policy and its consequences. In Brazil, a large and diverse country, it might be impossible to enforce such policy. there are too many schools! In addition, in a such heterogeneous country, regional culture should be studied in schools to keep traditions. Moreover, the regional disparities should be so strong that creating a mean national curriculum might actually be impossible. In fact, many aspects that may be relevant for one region may not be for the others. For instance, consider the disparities between the Amazonian communities that live in the forest and the students in São Paulo, one of the biggest metropolis in the world!

Finally, we live in an every time more globalized world. That being said, what is the point to create a national curriculum if there is more and more human capital mobility? Every year there are more examples of families moving to keep their jobs and we can imagine that that trend will increase in the next years as capitalism tackles the physical borders and limits between countries. In that context, does it make sense to create a national curriculum that is not similar to the one used in other countries? One policy that aims to reduce opportunity inequality in one country could instead contribute to increasing inequalities in a worldwide sense.

Although requiring that all students study the same curriculum might sound as a reducing inequalities focused policy, there is no evidence that supports that. Therefore, for the reasons exposed above, a nation should not implement a national curriculum.