The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that Bargain Brand should extend its business activities in direction to other food products instead of focusing exclusively on breakfast cereals. The author uses the strategy adopted by the company last year, when it started to sell cereals, as evidence to support that conclusion. However, the author makes several major assumptions that need to be addressed before the decision maker, whoever it might be, could accept or reject the argument.

First, the author assumes that the strategy adopted last year, when the company started its operations, it is still valid. The author assumes implicitly that the market conditions now are the same as they were in the previous year. If the economy is currently through the lower part of the economic cycle the decision to expand Bargain Brand operations could turn into a disaster.

Furthermore, it assumes not only that the state of the economy is the same, but also that the cereals market behaves in the same way other food products market. This might be completely flawed as the author actually does not argue what food products should be considered in the proposed strategy. Maybe other breakfast products may have the same characteristics as cereals have, but if this strategy is applied for other food products, as meat or industrialized food products, for instance, it can reveal to be a huge mistake,

Finally, the memo on the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals implicitly assumes that the margins on other food products are at least as large as the margins in the cereal market. Then, we should ask if it is it possible to introduce the other food products, whatever they might be, at a very low price as the company did for cereals. It is possible that the margins in the cereal business are much larger than in the general food market. In this case the idea presented in the memo could actually be impossible to be implemented.

I can concede that what the author has presented is a potentially good idea, but we still do not have enough evidence and information to conclude that this is the best way to go. Therefore, more evidence is needed in order to support that claim since the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, it will be important that at least the specification of what food products the company intend to expand to and a margins and an economic scenario study is presented.