The following appeared in a memo to the board

of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product,

Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices

quickly drew many customers away from the topselling cereal companies. Although the companies

producing the top brands have since tried to compete

with us by lowering their prices and although several

plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once

have we needed to raise our prices to continue

making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal,we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its

business and begin marketing other low-priced food

products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what

questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation and the

argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be

sure to explain how the answers to these questions

would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author proposes that Bargain Brand should now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as it can. The suggestion is mainly based on the popularity of its breakfast cereal and the fact that it has never had to rise up the prices to make continual profits when facing the competition with the top brands. However, some questions should be addressed before the author proves the validity of the argument.

The author mentions that their unexpectedly low prices of breakfast cereal quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. The most important problem is the underlying assumption that it is the low prices that result in the popularity of their cereal, which is unconvincing without some questions being answered. Could the low price take responsibility for the success in capturing customers away from the top-selling cereal companies? Not exactly. In all likelihood, the reason why people buy the Bargain Brand breakfast cereal is the excellent taste of this product rather than the low price. It is also probable that people choose the products of Bargain Brand instead of other top-selling businesses merely because the products’ quality of the later ones has turned out to be unsatisfying. Under these scenarios, the assumption does not hold water.

The author also reveals that they never need to raise their prices to continuing make profits when faced with the competition with other brands and infer that it can represent the success of Bargain Brand. Apparently, behind the inference lies the assumptions that continuing acquiring profits is the signal of success and the Bargain Brand should have made much more profits if they raise the prices. However, some questions should be addressed to substantiate this argument. It is entirely possible that the only advantage of the Bargain Brand is the cheapness. If the company rises up the price, the customers may turn out to choose other brands. So the constant price cannot mean the success of the business. Instead, it may be the only measure of Bargain Brand to attract customers. Besides, never can we neglect the possibility that the persistent profits gained by this kind of ways are not sure to be dramatic and considerable since the interests may be extremely low all the time. Hence, it is far-fetched to argue that the the company is successful basing on the revelations mentioned before.

Even though the Bargain Brand is truly successful in selling breakfast cereal, it is still hasty to conclude that it can also gain considerable profits by selling other low-Price food and recommend the company to expand its business. It is highly probable that the industries of other low-priced food products, such as candy, may have been saturated, indicating that Bargain Brand may not be competitive enough when facing the fierce competition with other famous brands. Besides, the quality of food products is also an indispensable factor when the customers choose the brand. If the new products of Bargain Brand have a terrible taste, or if they contain excessive additives and preservatives, the company is likely to fail in the attempt of new products. So it is abrupt to implement the publisher’s recommendation in absence of caring about and exploring these possible scenarios. Therefore, addressing the aforementioned questions might more defensibly reinforce the conclusion.

Overall, although the conclusion may be comprehensible in some aspects, some questions should be addressed before the author validates the argument. Had the author delivers more answers to the questions, the conclusion and the argument might be more defensible.