The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

The memo sent to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals says that Bargain Brand Cereals with their first product breakfast cereal with very low price attracted many customers from the top-selling cereal companies and in return these top-selling brands to compete with the Bargain Brand reduced the prices of cereals. They also launched several budget brands. But with this all also Bargain Brand did not need to increase the price of their cereals to continue make profit. The author argues that based on this the Bargain Brand should now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products. Here, the author assumes many things and does not provide clear and cogent evidences to prove his point.

According to the author, one year ago the first product of Bargain Brand Cereals's breakfast cereal was successful and they were able to compete with the top-selling brands.

Hence, based on this premise it will not be right to say that they should expand business and market other low-priced food products. As the economic situation may be different one year ago and now it is different so the author's argument does not hold water. It may also possible that cereal market is large and every company selling cereals is making profit, while same can not be said for food products market. The cereals quality of Bargain Brand may be best in the market with a very low price. There are no evidences or data to support the argument of the author.

There may be possibility that the people are very health conscious so they only prefer to buy food products from a well established company. There is also chance that the companies already selling food products are very big compared to their earlier competitors. These big companies have a large amount of financial resources so they can provide more discounts. Hence, there is not a guarantee that Bargain Brand will be profitable in selling food products. There may be lots of companies selling food products at a very low price hence, market is already saturated there is no more space for new company to enter in the market. The author could have consider these all assumptions and made more stronger argument.

To sum up, the author assumed many assumptions and there is lack of evidences to support the argument. By considering above assumptions author could have made his argument more stronger.