The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may seem true that the success story of bargain brand breakfast Cereals could be reproduced in other food products according to the memo, the board of directors had their conclusion based on some unwarranted assumptions, which are illustrated and discussed as below. Before Bargain Brand decides to expand its business to other low-priced food products, they should perform further investigations as suggested below.

The memo states that success in selling low-priced cereal can be reproduced to other food products. It is assuming that all customers tend to purchase the lowest-priced item in all categories of food. However, we don't know whether it is true or not. The possibility that people tend to buy the lowest price cereal is because there is no big difference in the taste of expensive cereal or cheap cereal, therefore, they chose the cheap one. If we were talking about spaghetti, the customers' choice could be different. Unless Bargain Brand has completed the survey of customers' shopping preferences for food products, it is not wise to expand their business for the moment.

In addition, the memo mentioned that there are other companies that started selling cereal at a lower price but are not too competitive to be worried. This claim is not very convincing because it did not clearly state the timing that their competitors started the same strategy. Perhaps the competitors only started their budget brands a week ago so that the customers haven't noticed the change and continue buying Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Nonetheless, perhaps after one month or six months, the customers notice the other low-price cereal and switch to the competitors' cereal product. As a result, before making the conclusion that the customers will always stick to Bargain Brand's low-price cereal, the managers should be more cautious of the market reaction in terms of times.

To sum up, although the original idea of expanding the business to a low-priced food product is good in terms of trying to dominate the market, the management should try to gather more cogent results of the survey or reliable data on the market trend before making such a decision.