The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it seems true that the success story in Garville could be reduplicated in Waymarsh, the editor's conclusion is actually derived from evidence based on unwarranted assumptions. Before the editors made such a recommendation to the town council, he or she should evaluate the evidence he/she cited to strengthen his/her point of view on promoting the shared rides and gas coupons.

First of all, the editor mentioned that after the implementation of the reward policy on shared rides and gas coupons in Garville, the commuting times have fallen significantly and so this policy will make the same result to Waymarsh. It is based on the assumption that people in Waymarsh will positively accept and start the rides sharing. However, we do not know whether it could be a great incentive for them. Maybe people in Waymarsh would rather spend more time commuting than to share the rides with strangers. In such a case, the gas coupons would serve no effect to mitigate the traffic. Therefore, before the editor concluded that the policy in one town will achieve the same effect in other towns, he/she should try to find other evidence, such as another survey on people's reaction to the new policy, to support his/her conclusion.

In addition, it mentioned that three years ago the commuting time is only 20 minutes while now it is doubled according to a recent completed survey. Nonetheless, the editor did not tell us if the survey also conducted an analysis of the root causes of increasing traffic, and clearly the editor did not take this factor into consideration when making his conclusion. What if the main reason for the increasing commuting time is actually not due to those people who drive to work but the increasing tourists who come to Waymarsh for visiting? Perhaps during these three years, Waymarsh has grown to be a tourist spot. Then even though the inhabitants in Waymarsh start shared rides, the increasing vehicles of tourists will still make the problem happen and even worsen. Unless the root cause of the heavier traffic is analyzed, it is not convincing to me that giving the coupons and promoting the shared rides will solve the issue.

Lastly, it pointed out that the decreasing vehicle on roads of Garville also has another great side-effect, the air pollution has dropped since the implementation of the reward policy. It seems appealing at first but is still not enough reliable as it might not preclude other conditions. What if the Garville government implemented another policy of limiting the emission of the exhaust gas from industries at the same time that the reward policy is implemented? Then the decreasing of air pollution is not the achievement of increasing shared rides but the result of other policies. Ultimately, the editor should review carefully if there are other causes of the results.

To sum up, unless further evidence is provided to prove the editor's unstated assumptions, his/her conclusion of having the same policy in Waymarsh as Garville sounds not reliable enough.