The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh.

In this argument, the author claims that Waymarsh should follow the policy of Garville to resolve the problem of traffic. The argument seems to be some validity at first glance, but we immediately found out there are several logical mistakes throughout the whole article. My reasons can be substantiated by the incoming comments:

To begin with, the author says that the survey showed that the typical driving commuter now takes closer to 40 minutes to get to work, which is more than before. However, we need more evidence in this topic. We do not know whether the sample and research data are same in the survey. If the typical driving commuter changed their job or house, they would probably change their route since they had to go to different locations to work. The author need to provide more detail about this survey to make people believe it.

Even if the survey is veracious, it is not to say that the new construction will disrupt some of residential neighborhoods because of the expenditure. We need more evidence that the program of the road building is expensive than other ways to address the problem. If the expenditure of program of road building is not higher than other ways, it will not disrupt some of residential neighborhoods.

Finally, the author says that we should follow the policy of Garville to fix the problem. Nevertheless, we still need more evidence about the differences and similarities between Waymarsh and Garville to evaluate the possibility of sharing ride to work. If people living in Waymarsh are sporadic and cannot easily share the ride for each other. That is to say, following the policy of Garville will not be successful.

To sum up, the author have to provides more evidence in detail to make valid assumptions he provided. Without such evidence, we cannot jump to the conclusion that following the policy of Garville can fix the traffic problems in Waymarsh. All in all, if the author provides more precise evidence and mends the logical mistakes, then the argument would be more persuasive.