The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants stated that all Happy pancake house should replace the butter with margarine in order to avoid the expense of purchasing butter. By doing so, their customers will not even notice based on their first try in the southwestern united states. However, his conclusion is based on some unwarranted assumptions and further investigations should be done to strengthen his point of view.

The manager maintained that only 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint so that they kept 98 percent of customers. The implication that all the rest of the customers will still come to have pancakes at their restaurant is untenable. It could be highly likely that some customers not only notice the replacement but also decide to stop coming back to Happy Pancake house. And the most important thing is that they walk away without filing a complaint to the restaurant. Then the manager will never know what the customers truly think about their adjustment on the butter. Instead of only focusing on the 2 percent formal complaint, the manager should put emphasis on the trend of total consumers before and after the replace of butter.

Also, the manager implied that because the customers in the southwestern United states actually notice few about the replacement, so customers in the rest of the country will also not notice that change. It is not very convincing as people living in other places could have a very different living style or taste from people living in the southwestern. They might have a stronger clinging to the taste of butter so that they will have a huge negative reaction to the butter replacement. Before the manager pursues their company to implement the replace of butter in all their restaurants, he should better perform a formal survey on the taste of inhabitants in other places.

Last but not least, it could be true that margarine is cheaper than butter in the southwestern United states so the profit could be seen after the replacement. However, the cost of butter in southeastern or other places could be less than that in southwestern because the butter is originated everywhere but the southwestern. Therefore, it would be meaningless for restaurants located outsides southwestern to replace the butter with margarine if the cost is similar while the taste of butter is much better. Although the manager's motivation for cost-saving is appreciable, he should figure out the cost of butter and margarine in every region of the country prior to assuming that the replacement of butter will definitely bring profit to other restaurants of the company.